Structure of OSOT

The structure and governance of the Society is defined in its by-laws.

OSOT’s structure is described in the organizational chart and regional structure below.  Hover on each component of the structure or geographic region for details.
OSOST Membership Board of Directors Board Standing Committees Executive Director Volunteers Teams, Task Forces, Representatives OSOT Office Staff OSOT is an association of occupational therapists living and/or working in Ontario and occupational therapy students enrolled in a Canadian entry level OT program. Voting members are registered to practice in the province or are non-practising OTs who have established their professional credentials. A non-voting Associate Member category provides opportunity for non-OTs who wish to associate with the Society to join. The Society is governed by an 8 member board of directors. Directors are nominated and elected by the membership and assume a 2 year term of office. The board meets approximately 6 times per year and is responsible for strategic guidance and policy direction. Through 5 Committees of the board, the core governance work is assumed and undertaken. These committees include:
  • Executive Committee
  • Finance Committee
  • Human Resources Committee
  • Nominations and Elections Committee
  • Process Monitoring Committee
The Executive Director is the chief executive officer of the Society, responsible for operations and implementation of the board’s policies and strategic plan, oversight of staff and volunteers, and external representation of the Society. The Executive Director is accountable to the board of directors.
The work and positions of OSOT are directed by and developed with input from members. OSOT Teams provide a formal and enduring structure through which member volunteers with expertise related to key practice sectors monitor and identify issues, opportunities and needs of OTs and assists OSOT to address these. Time-bounded initiatives create opportunity for members to participate in issue/activity focused Task Forces. The Society participates in a variety of interprofessional/inter-organizational forums to which board appointed volunteers provide representation from OSOT.
OSOT’s office team work under the leadership of the Executive Director to ensure the day to day operations and services of the Society support members well. The 5 person staff team is organized around functional roles that support key priorities of the Society’s mandate. OSOT’s office is located in Toronto.

Membership - Regions

Members are the backbone of the Ontario Society of Occupational Therapists and are at the nucleus of its structure. Over 4,600 occupational therapists, occupational therapy students and others who wish to associate with the profession comprise a healthy membership that has experienced continuous growth in the past decade. Membership of OSOT is organized in six (6) geographic regions established to align with boundaries of the districts of the College of Occupational Therapists of Ontario. OSOT Regions include:
Northwest Region Northeast Region Central East Region East Region Central West Region South West Region
  • North West Region

  • North East Region

  • Central East Region

  • East Region

  • Central West Region

  • South West Region

Ontario Map

Roll over the map
to see zone details

  • North West Region: Composed of the territorial districts of Kenora, Rainy River and Thunder Bay.

  • North East Region: Composed of the territorial districts of Sudbury, Parry Sound, Timiskaming, Nipissing, Algoma, Cochrane and Manitoulin and the District Municipality of Muskoka.

  • Central East Region: Composed of the Municipality of Toronto, the counties of Haliburton, Northumberland, Peterborough, Simcoe and Victoria, and the regional municipalities of Durham Peel and York.

  • Eastern Region: Composed of the united counties of Prescott and Russell, Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry, Lennox and Addington, Leeds and Grenville, The Regional Municipality of Ottawa-Carlton, the counties of Hastings, Prince Edward, Frontenac, Renfrew and Lanark.

  • Central West Region: Composed of the counties of Brant, Dufferin and Wellington, and the regional municipalities of Haldimand-Norfolk, Halton, Hamilton-Wentworth, Niagara and Waterloo.

  • South West Region: Composed of the counties of Essex, Bruce, Grey, Kent, Lambton, Elgin, Middlesex, Oxford, Huron and Perth.