OSOT Awards Program

The wealth of expertise, commitment and leadership in the profession of occupational therapy in Ontario is significant. Through the Society's Awards Program, members have opportunity to recognize and honour individuals whose contributions and talents earn the respect and appreciation of their colleagues.

OSOT Honourary Life Membership Award

This annual award recognizes an individual who is or has been an active member and who has rendered distinguished and long-standing service to the profession and/or OSOT.

This award represents the highest honour OSOT may bestow upon a member. Recipients receive a life membership in the Society.

OSOT's Life Members include:
 Sue Baptiste Barbara Cawley
 Marilyn Conibear Jill Cruickshank
 Pat Fisher Judith Friedland
 Anna Greenblatt Debra Kennedy
 Mary Law Helene Polatajko
 Barbara Quinn Susan Rappolt
 Karen Rucas Debra Stewart
Anne Strickland Thelma Sumsion
Margaret Young  

Debbie Hebert, Thelma Cardwell, Ethel Clark, Sheila Irvine, Helen Levesconte, Barbara Posthuma, Ann Richards, Isobel Robinson, and Helen Smith
, are Honourary Life members now sadly missed.

View The Honourary Life Membership Award Nomination Form

Meet our 2021 OSOT Honourary Life Member - Anna Greenblatt! 
View her nomination.

OSOT New Graduate Award

The OSOT New Graduate Award for Leadership and Advocacy in Occupational Therapy recognizes a graduating Student Occupational Therapist in each Ontario Occupational Therapy university program who has been recognized for his/her leadership and advocacy to the profession of Occupational Therapy, demonstrating active and continued interest and initiative achievement in one or more of the following areas: 

  • Government Affairs, Advocacy for the Profession
  • Public Relations
  • Educational Issues
  • Professional Practice Issues. 

Recipients may be nominated and selected by their colleagues, faculty and/or clinical preceptors.

The OSOT Student Award consists of a certificate for a complimentary OSOT Conference registration valid to be redeemed during the first 2 years of the recipient’s practice.

View 2020 OSOT New Graduate Award Recipients.

OSOT Volunteer Award

This award was established in 2002, the Year of the Volunteer, to recognize and honour an individual who emulates the spirit of voluntarism through outstanding service. It is conferred upon someone who has demonstrated significant contribution as a volunteer through sustained or long term involvement in the work of the Society and/or who has promoted the profession through volunteer involvement in local, regional, provincial or national forums. The award consists of a complimentary membership in the Society for one membership year and a complimentary registration at the annual conference or equivalent in travel expenses to the conference.

Past Recipients

  • Wayne Halenda, 2002
  • Karen Rucas, 2003, 2004
  • Sandra Moll, 2006
  • Pat Clancy, 2007
  • Cathie Tan, 2008
  • April Belbeck, Wayne Halenda, Laurie Macdonald, 2009
  • Nancy Gowan, 2010
  • Mary Lou Boudreau, Sandra Moll, 2011


Acknowledging AWESOME ACTS in Occupational Therapy

Every day occupational therapists across Ontario are doing awesome things. They're delivering excellent client-centred care, designing programs that are delivering amazing outcomes, developing cool new promotions or solutions, sharing impressive resources or knowledge, undertaking dynamic entrepreneurial business development and all sorts of other inspiring activities that we think are just awesome! That's worth celebrating and that's why are Acknowledging Awesome Acts in OT. Celebrate the “awesomeness” of our OT community!

Perhaps you know of an occupational therapist that is doing something awesome. Why not use our Submission Template to send us a few quick lines and we'll be in touch to take it from there!

Click here to view occupational therapists doing awesome acts!