OSOT Honours Bani Ahuja With the 2022 OSOT Award of Merit

The Ontario Society of Occupational Therapists is pleased to announce that Bani Ahuja is the 2022 OSOT Award of Merit recipient!

The Award of Merit is a new award OSOT introduced in 2022 and is in recognition of: accomplishment in occupational therapy practice in Ontario with demonstrated significant volunteerism, leadership, accomplishment and/or advocacy within the profession. 
Bani's achievements include:
  • Research and multiple publications
  • Volunteered on more than 5 different organizations/communities
  • Presented educational workshops
  • Served on OSOT Board of Directors
  • Supervised students
  • Co-created document for providing mental health services to culturally diverse populations
  • Continuing to promote occupational therapy to different communities
  • Current chair of the OSOT Adult Mental Health Team 
The Award of Merit was presented at the Awards and Recognition Ceremony, hosted at the 2022 OSOT Conference.


We would also like to recognize all of the nominees:
  • Megan Jones: For going above and beyond to support OTs, including new graduates, in rural communities.
  • Esther Atkin: For kindness, creativity, and professional contribution over 5 decades.
  • Gayle Cronin: For exceptional client care, going above and beyond, giving of herself, her knowledge, and her kindness.
  • Andrea Cook: For exceptional client care, leadership, volunteerism, and mentorship in home and community care.